A collection of the Book of Shane stories by Nick Eliopulos, with an exclusive fourth story and an introduction by Tui T. Sutherland.

Special Edition: The Book of Shane

Book1se cover Burst

Friend and traitor. Conqueror and king. Hero and villain.

Shane is just a boy, but in order to free his people, he's resolved to do whatever — to become whomever — his mission requires. Throughout their journey to save Erdas, Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan have faced this dangerous foe again and again. But none have learned the truth of the boy who nearly changed the course of history forever.

Now that truth is revealed. With an introduction by Tui T. Sutherland, this collection of stories sheds a light on the past, present, and future of the boy who would be conqueror — and the role Shane has yet to play in the dangers still to come.

Book of Shane #1

Book1 cover

There are two sides to every story!

Throughout their quest to save the world, Conor, Abeke, Meilin, and Rollan have faced off against a brutal enemy force: the Conquerors. Their vicious tactics have toppled countries and devastated families.

Shane is a Conqueror. A boy himself, he's been both a mysterious friend and cunning foe to the heroes — with a past more complicated than any of them realized.

Now Shane's story will finally be told . . . and history will be written by the victors.

Book of Shane #2

Book2 cover

Now and then, to accomplish something great, you have to do something bad. Shane intends to end the conflict that's devastating Erdas... and to achieve that, he's just done something very bad.

While returning home from a fateful victory, the young Conqueror discovers he's being pursued, and must seek cover in a war-torn jungle.

But the forest holds dangers of its own, and before long Shane is fighting for his life. If he's going to win this war, Shane will need to outmaneuver a deadly pursuer -- and his own guilty conscience.

Book of Shane #3

Book3 cover

The war is over and Erdas is rebuilding. It seems everyone is celebrating a new age of peace.

Everyone except Shane. Shane wants revenge.

The young Conqueror is on the hunt, tracking a target who knows his every move before it happens. He's closing in on his prey — but the closer Shane gets, the more he begins to see patterns in the shadows.

Shane can sense a trap is waiting. He's being led down a path that he may not be able to return from. Will he abandon his quest for vengeance . . . or follow it into the darkness?


Nick Eliopulos

Nick eliopulos

Nick Eliopulos is an editor of books for kids and teenagers. His short stories have appeared in Spirit Animals: Tales of the Great Beasts and Stuck in the Middle: Seventeen Comics from an Unpleasant Age. An avid fan of comics, games, and monster movies, he lives in Brooklyn with two fish named after characters from a soap opera.

Scholastic logo

Enter the world of Erdas in the Spirit Animals Book 1: Wild Born by Brandon Mull. Discover your spirit animal and join the adventure in the online game.

More from Scholastic for fans of Spirit Animals:
Are you ready to save the world? Join the hunt for the 39 Clues in the bestselling book series and online at the website.

History is broken! Join the quest to save history with the Infinity Ring book series and online / mobile app game.

SCHOLASTIC, INFINITY RING, THE 39 CLUES, SPIRIT ANIMALS and associated logos are trademarks and/or registered trademarks of Scholastic Inc.
© 2012 — 2013 Scholastic Inc. All rights reserved.